+91 7011991389 info@travelmagzine.com
Tour Package

Uttarakhand Tourism At A Glance

Uttarakhand is one of the most popular tourist destinations in India offering a complete package of adventure, nature, beauty and peace. Many of Hinduism's most important shrines lie within Uttarakhand, Amongst these, the most sacred are the 'Char Dham'- the four shrines of Gangotri, Yamunotri, Badrinath and Kedarnath. Hardwar and Rishikesh are two of Hinduism's most prominent destinations for pilgrims, while the historical Gurudwara of Hemkund Sahib, near the Valley of Flowers, is an important shrine for Sikh pilgrims.

Ancient temples, forest reserves, national parks, hill stations, and mountain peaks welcome you in the calm, cooling air of Uttarakhand and the joy doubly increases as we reveal that you can visit some of the famous hill stations of India in Uttarakhand. Mussoorie, Nainital, Dhanaulti, Lansdowne, Sattal, Almora, Kausani, Bhimtal, and Ranikhet are ever embracing hill stations in the state best for all kinds of trips be it a family holiday or a honeymoon. Don't forget to buy handmade candles to light up your trip memories.

Geography of Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand, located in the northern part of India, shares its borders with Nepal, Tibet, Uttar Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh. The Nanda Devi Mountains divide the state into two parts- Kumaon and Garhwal. Both these regions have scintillating views and sceneries. Dehradun, the capital of the state, is the largest city. Other prominent peaks of Himalayan ranges like Kedarnath, Trishul, Bandarpunch are in Uttarakhand. The Ganga, Yamuna, Ramganga and Sharda rivers form a part of the geography of the state.

History of Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand is also referred to as Dev Bhoomi or the Land of Gods because many Hindu pilgrimage spots are located here. The state has been ruled by the Kushanas, Kudinas, Kanishka, Samudra, Guptas, Pauravas, Katuris, Palas, Chandras, Pawaras and the British. After Independence, the Tehri princely state was merged into Uttar Pradesh state, while Uttarakhand composed the Garhwal and Kumaon Divisions. Until 1998, Uttarakhand was the name most commonly used to refer to the region.

Have Questions?We’re here to help solve all your problems